Samurai edge Shujaa to claim maiden Safari Sevens title

Winners of the Safari Sevens

Samurai finally succeeded where they had failed in 1998 and 2011, clinching the Safari Sevens Cup title with a 20-19 win over Shujaa in an entertaining final played at the Safaricom Stadium in Kasarani on Sunday 4 October 2015.

Ignacio Martins opened the scoring for the Mike Friday coached side, touching down right from kickoff before adding a second try to see the international invitational side take a 10-0 lead.

Benjamin Ayimba's Shujaa would keep in touch, Andrew Amonde forcing his way over the try line after linking up with Augustine Lugonzo. Biko Adema would add the extras, reducing the deficit to 10-7 before Lugonzo sliced through the Samurai defense, Adema converting to put Shujaa 14-10 up at the break.

Shujaa seemed to be coasting when Frank Wanyama went over after the break to put the local team 19-10 up.

Samurai's Kenyan contingent conspired, unwittingly though, to deny the home side. Sammy Oliech would ground the ball to bring the scores to 19-15 before Oscar Ouma secured the result for Samurai, going over for the 20-19 full time score.

South Africa's Western Province finished third with a 29-12 win over Zimbabwe.

The England Saxons left it late, stopping Spain 24-19 in an energy sapping plate final while the Morans, the second Kenyan team in the competition won the bowl with a 26-12 win over Portugal. Zambia, making a return to the Safari Sevens after a long hiatus stunned Uganda 14-10 to lift the shield title.

Collated Results

Cup Final

Samurai 20 Shujaa 19


Western Province 29 Zimbabwe 12

Plate Final

England Saxons 24 Spain 19

Bowl Final

Morans 26 Portugal 12
Zambia 14 Uganda 10

Shield Final Cup Semis

Samurai 21 Western Province 19
Shujaa 24 Zimbabwe 0

Plate Semis

Spain 36 Wailers 7
Saxons 31 Iconz 5

Bowl Semis

Namibia 12 Morans 29
Brazil 5 Portugal 10

Shield Semis

Italy 5 Zambia 14
Burundi 0 Uganda 55

Cup Quarters

Western Province 38 Iconz 0
Samurai 40 Saxons 7
Wailers 5 Shujaa 19
Spain 10 Zimbabwe 14

Bowl Quarters

Italy 7 Namibia 40
Morans 31 Zambia 0
Portugal 50 Burundi 0
Brazil 22 Uganda 21